Last night the Port Adelaide Cycling Club held its 2020 Annual General Meeting where our new Committee was elected.

It was somewhat a bitter sweet occasion where we farewelled Gemma Kernich as President.  Gemma needs no introduction as she is a highly respected member of the Australian cycling community. She served as Vice President of the Club from 2011 – 2018 and has spent the last two years in the position of President.  Her contributions to cycling are endless.  From Coach, to Race Director, former board member and  President of Cycling South Australia as well as serving on numerous committees – from the Cycling Australia Cyclo Cross Technical Committee, the CSA Women’s Commission, and is a passionate advocate for all things cycling as a sport and a means of transport.  Let’s not forget her many track and cyclo cross state and national championships, and her World Championship in the Masters Women’s scratch race in 2018. While she will no longer be in that role, she will continue to be an active volunteer at the club and we will continue to be in awe of everything she does.

The reason for Gemma's departure is exciting though. She has been chosen to be on the inaugural board of AusCycling – overseeing the transition of the merge of three cycling disciplines into one.  A huge task, but we know we are in good hands with her input and guidance.

With Gemma’s departure, we welcome Mark Gregory back to the Presidency. Mark was previously Club President from 2011 – 2015 and stood down from the position due to work arrangements. Mark is a passionate PACCer and is looking forward to continuing with the work that the Committee has undertaken over several years to be a strong, well run, member focused club with offerings for all ages, abilities across all disciplines.  

 The Club also welcomes Alison Sorell to the Committee. Alison joined the club in 2018 as one of the three women’s teams the club put together for the CSA Super Series, joining us from a triathlon background.  Since then, she has joined the CX fold and continues to enjoy the Super Series events and Hanson Training sessions.  Ali has served on a number of Committees in the past and we look forward to tapping in on that knowledge, and having another set of hands on deck to assist with running of the Club.

 The rest of the Committee remains unchanged

Position Name
President Mark Gregory
Vice President Stacey Quinn
Secretary Paula Hollamby
Treasurer Jo Dettloff
Committee Members: Peter Davis
Tim Loft
Jenny Macpherson
Alison Sorell

Photo:  When President's Unite - Gemma Kernich and Mark Gregory at National Cyclocross Championships 2017.  Photo Credit:  Tim Loft

, ,
No Comments

You must be authenticated in order to add a comment.